Zum Hauptinhalt springen

Forced password change mode forces users to enter a new password after first login. What if the new password was mistyped? - Wissensdatenbank / Produkte / Required Password Change: new procedure for first time login - Hirschmann Support Center

Forced password change mode forces users to enter a new password after first login. What if the new password was mistyped?

When the switch is in forced password change mode, it is necessary to change the default password. In the web interface, the user is presented with the login screen. The user enters admin/private. The next screen prompts for a new password. There is no password confirmation screen.

The user enters the new password. The switch opens a new session and presents the login screen again.

If the user mistyped the new password, it will not be possible to log into the switch. But at this stage, the new password is not saved. If the user power cycles the switch, it will boot in factory default with admin/private, and the forced password change process will start again.

So if users mistype the new passwords, all they need to do is power cycle the switch.